DWI Breath Tests

In New Jersey

Alcohol Breath Tests

New Jersey law requires every driver using the roadways to submit to a chemical breath test when requested, provided there is probable cause to stop your vehicle.

Refusal to submit to breath testing is a separate violation of this “implied consent” law and will subject you to the following penalties. Conviction of both a Refusal and DWI may subject you to double the penalties.

1st Offense: Refusal

  • Minimum (7) seven months to (1) one year loss of driving privileges in New Jersey;
  • $300.00 to $500.00 Fine;
  • 12 to 48 hours IDRC (Intoxicated Driver Resource Center), which is an Alcohol Evaluation Class;
  • $200.00 DWI Surcharges;
  • Insurance Surcharge – $3,000.00 ($1,000.00 per year for three (3) years through the MVC);
  • (9) insurance points assessed

2nd Offense: Refusal

  • Two (2) years loss of driving privileges in New Jersey;
  • $500.00 to $1,000.00 Fine;
  • 12 to 48 hours IDRC (Intoxicated Driver Resource Center),
  • $200.00 DWI Surcharges;
  • Insurance Surcharge – $3,000.00 ($1,000.00 per year for three (3) years through the MVC);
  • (9) insurance points assessed

Call me right now for a free New Jersey DWI attorney consultation to discuss your case. There are valid defenses to a New Jersey Refusal charge, including the failure of the Police to read the proper statements to you prior to your refusing, as well as a lack of probable cause to even stop your car. I have successfully defended countless New Jersey persons such as yourself against these DWI or Refusal charges, saving them their New Jersey license, their livelihood, their honor and their sanity. Call me now to see if I can help you too.

Please email me or call me now for a free legal consultation at 1-888-8-DWI-LAW, (1-888-839-4529) or on my cell at 856-282-0434.