If this is your first DWI offense in New Jersey for driving while intoxicated there are many reasons why you need an experienced and aggressive New Jersey DWI attorney who is willing to fight for you and protect your rights. Being convicted of or pleading guilty to DWI will seriously affect your New Jersey driving privileges, your ability to obtain insurance in New Jersey at reasonable cost, and may possibly effect your ability to work. As your New Jersey DWI Attorney, I will do all that is possible to protect your rights including personally representing you in New Jersey court, and I pledge to seek the best result possible, based on the specific facts of your New Jersey DWI case.
The following are the first DWI offense New Jersey penalties for being convicted or pleading guilty as a first offender to DWI driving while intoxicated, (NJSA 39:4-50) and they vary according to Blood Alcohol Level (BAC).
First New Jersey DWI offense with BAC of .08% but less than .10%: You’ll lose your New Jersey license for three months; pay a fine ranging from $250 to $400, mandatory 12 to 48 hour stay at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) with related fees, and insurance surcharges of $1,000 a year for three years. You may also be required to spend up to 30 days in jail.
First New Jersey DWI offense with BAC of .10% or higher: You’ll lose your New Jersey license for seven months up to one year, face a $300 to $500 fine, have a mandatory IDRC stay of 12 to 48 hours with related fees and insurance surcharges of $1,000 a year for three years. You may also be required to spend up to 30 days in jail.
As you can see, there is a significant difference between the two levels of a first DWI offense in New Jersey, especially with regard to the period of New Jersey license suspension. Contact us to discuss your DWI case, to learn whether there may be challenges that can be made to the Blood Alcohol Reading, which may save you from an additional four to eight months of license suspension, or possibly result in the New Jersey DWI charge being dismissed completely.
If you have just received your first DWI offense, contact Steven M. Garber for a free phone consultation in New Jersey
I am waiting for your call at 1-888-8-DWI-LAW, (1-888-839-4529), or on my cell, at 856-282-0434.